The all-new fancy-dancy 2018-19 per-40-minutes PIVOT stats spreadsheet! | The Boneyard

The all-new fancy-dancy 2018-19 per-40-minutes PIVOT stats spreadsheet!

JRRRJ

Chief Didacticist
Reaction Score
I have completely redesigned the per-40-minutes spreadsheet. No longer will there be a plethora of tabs to deal with. Instead, you will be able to slice and dice the raw data to get the reports you want, thanks to the power of pivot tables.

I'm a beginner with designing pivot tables, so I welcome comments and help requests from users who have problems with what I've done as well as suggestions from Excel experts who believe there's a better way to implement the design.

You can get the workbook from my download page.

The Detail tab contains the raw data from the box scores. (Have you noticed that UConn played 2 less minutes than Vanguard -- 198 to 200 -- in the first game?) It's protected to prevent accidental changes, but you can unprotect it if you want by right-clicking on the tab name.

The Per-40 tab is where the fun is. When you open the workbook this first time, the tab will be showing the summary of all (two) games whose data I've entered so far. (Later, it will open on the stats for the most recent game.) The blue & white table at the top reprises the boxscore info. The table below the yellow-backgrounded line shows the per-40-minutes values for the data in the upper table.

You can change what data is in the upper table by using the drop-downs (labelled "Starter", "Opponent", "DATE") at the very top of the tab and the drop-down on the 5th line next to the "Row Labels" label.

They Starter drop-down allows you to select data for starters only, non-starters only, team totals only or (if you select the "Select Multiple Items" checkbox) any combination of the categories, as well as All categories.

The Opponent drop-down works similarly for one, more, or all opponents, and the DATE drop-down for the date of the game.