Change Ad Consent
Do not sell my data
Reply to thread | The Boneyard
Menu
Forums
New posts
Search forums
What's new
New posts
Latest activity
Chat
UConn Men's Basketball
UConn Women's Basketball
UConn Football
Media
The Uconn Blog
Verbal Commits
This is UConn Country
Field of 68
CT Scoreboard Podcasts
A Dime Back
Sliders and Curveballs Podcast
Storrs Central
Men's Basketball
News
Roster
Schedule
Standings
Women's Basketball
News
Roster
Schedule
Standings
Football
News
Roster
Depth Chart
Schedule
Football Recruiting
Offers
Commits
Donate
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
New posts
Search forums
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Forums
UConn Athletics
UConn Women's Basketball Forum
Rule question involving an ex-Husky
.
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
[QUOTE="stamfordhusky, post: 4196875, member: 649"] Your interpretation is not correct. The game does NOT end until the referees have left the floor, according to the rules. They are CLEARLY allowed to award free throws after the clock reads 0:00. Here are a couple of interesting items from the NCAA case book, which has the same force as the rules: A.R. 26. Team A is ahead by one point. The game-ending horn sounds with the ball loose at the division line. Clearly after playing time has expired, A1 retrieves the ball and dunks into A1’s basket. The referee, before checking/approving the final score, sees this action by A1 and assesses a player/substitute technical foul. Team A’s coach pushes the referee after the technical foul is ruled. The referee assesses a disqualifying foul to Team A’s coach, ejects the coach, and awards Team B four free throws. RULING: The referee is correct. The officials’ jurisdiction does not end until the approval of the final score. Until the officials’ jurisdiction ends, an official may rule a technical foul, an intentional foul, or a disqualifying foul, correct a correctable error (Rule 2-12), or correct a bookkeeping mistake by the official scorer. (Rule 2-4.3) A.R. 27. The officials leave the playing area at the end of the game, and while they are in the locker room, it is discovered that there is a mistake in the score or that there was a request for a correctable error (Rule 2-12). RULING: When the officials leave the visual confines of the playing court when the final quarter or overtime are over, the score has been approved and the game is over. - - - - - One other thing about your scenario of the technical that is assessed in pre-game. You say, "The penalty for that technical (before the game clock started and while officials have jurisdiction) can't be applied until the start of the first quarter, meaning...on the clock and during the game. " In fact, the free throws are shot BEFORE the first quarter has started. Not "on the clock and during the game." The free throws are taken, and then are followed by a jump ball that initiates the actual game. There is a reason that the NCAA will not speak to this play, i.e. that everyone closely involved in basketball already understands exactly what happened and that a referee can still assess technical fouls after time has expired. [/QUOTE]
Verification
First name of men's bb coach
Post reply
Forum statistics
Threads
164,446
Messages
4,396,597
Members
10,209
Latest member
gemini*trvl
.
..
Forums
UConn Athletics
UConn Women's Basketball Forum
Rule question involving an ex-Husky
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
Accept
Learn more…
Top
Bottom