OT: Relocatable Power Tap | The Boneyard

OT: Relocatable Power Tap

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hans Sprungfeld

Undecided
Reaction Score
For the first time, I noticed a warning not to plug one grounded, UL-listed, power strip into another. Here's the full list of what is plugged into the two strips: turntable, 20 watt receiver, dubbing cassette deck, USB adapter for mini-plug charging, USB adapter for lightning cord charging, then second power strip which has Blu-ray disc player, 24-inch TV/monitor, Chromecast, and router extender. Maximum load would be watching video w/sound through stereo, while caring a device. Questions: do I have to unplug the s conditions strip from the first? If so, can I plug two strips into the same grounded wall outlet? Fwiw, very little else is on the circuit. It's simply a secondry audio-visual setup located in a large, well-ventilated built-in

gtcam

Diehard since '65
Reaction Score
I'm no electrician or expert but I have been plugging one power strip into another more than once over the past 10 years - never ran into a problem at all. In fact have that in two rooms plus my garage right now

tdrink

Pessimistic idealist
Reaction Score
You have to add up the amperage being drawn by the various devices. If it exceeds the number on the breaker you will likely trip the breaker at some point. Id guess that plugging a multi-strip into another has more effect on the surge protection of the multi-strip.

jleves

Awesomeness
Reaction Score