Rehabbing/Bonding Danger and Evina | The Boneyard

Rehabbing/Bonding Danger and Evina

RockyMTblue2

Don't Look Up!
Reaction Score
From our new Courant beat reporter Alexa Philippou:

UConn women: Rehabbing Crystal Dangerfield, Evina Westbrook find time to bond

"Fortunately, the worst of their rehab is behind them. Westbrook said she’s feeling less pain while continuing to focus on building her strength. Dangerfield, who said her hip is taking a bit longer than expected to bounce back, has not hesitated to “show-and-tell” her teammates as she sees fit from the sideline, stepping into the leadership role required of her as a senior point guard.

For Westbrook, Dangerfield has provided invaluable support as she has navigated through the various mental hurdles of this offseason.

“[Crystal’s] been through the surgery process before. She’s been through the basketball system before. Just being able to pick her brain ... I’m a junior, but I’m new to the team, so I’m trying to get used to things, and she’s been a really big help,” Westbrook said.

“Both of us know, we're friends for life now because of what we had to struggle through,” Dangerfield said.
“It's been a long journey,” Westbrook said. “But I wouldn't pick a better teammate to go through it.”

RockyMTblue2

Don't Look Up!
Reaction Score
More on rehab from Doug:

Recovery from surgery slow for UConn guard Crystal Dangerfield

"The Huskies begin the preseason Nov. 6 against Division-II Trevecca Nazarene, a team guided by Dangerfield’s high school coach, Chad Hibdon. After participating in the autograph session with her teammates Thursday, Dangerfield expressed mild optimism that she’ll return by then.

“As far as I know, yeah, but things can change,” she said. “They’re kind of doing the same timetable as it was for my first hip (surgery), and it’s a little bit different than it was for my first time.”