OT: Haunted CT History | The Boneyard

OT: Haunted CT History

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
Im looking to create a unit of Haunted CT History to teach local history. My argument is that haunted history/ghost stories explain a lot about culture through the ways people develop and disseminate stories through word of worth.

What is your experience with this? Not saying you had to see a ghost. What kind of haunted stories are popular in your town or region of the state? Could be something well known (ie Charles Island in Milford) or something few people have heard of. Thanks!

Reaction Score
I've got a bunch of people in my family that believe that kind of nonsense. I usually stop listening after a few moments.

WaterDawg

Lurker Extraordinaire
Reaction Score
The "White Lady" is said to haunt Union Cemetary off of Sport Hill Road in Easton. Back in the mid 90s when I was an undergrad, I saw the Warren's Halloween show at Jorgensen and they talked at length about her.

Reaction Score
Two of the best known are the White Lady in Union Cemetery and Ledge Light in New London. In addition, Dudleytown is pretty legendary. I'm pretty sure New Haven has a whole "Haunted Tour" as well.

MrP

Reaction Score
Seventh Day Baptist Cemetery in Burlington (aka "Green Lady Cemetery"). Folks claim to see a misty green lady walking around (she went out searching for her husband in a snow storm and never came home).

Fairfield_1st

Sitting on this Barstool talking like a damn fool
Reaction Score
I've heard a lot about Dudleytown as well. I don't think you can actually get to it anymore, but could be wrong. Why not go to the source. Check out www.warrens.net for the website of Ed & Lorraine Warren and their Occult Museum. Ed passed a number of years ago, but his wife and son (or son-in-law, not sure) are still active.

UCweCONN

Former Poster
Reaction Score