OT- Dan Marino retires | The Boneyard

OT- Dan Marino retires

Reaction Score
Dan Marino hasn't played in an NFL game since 1999. But he had a ceremony and filed his retirement papers Wednesday. This came as a surprise to me but not in the way most retirements would surprise me. I like this line “And the fact I’ve been a free agent for 16 years and no one’s called is kind of upsetting to me.”

Dan Marino finally retires from the Miami Dolphins. Huh?

temery

What?
Reaction Score
Probably writing a book.

I lived in Florida when Miami was great. Still can't believe he wasn't able to bring them back. He just didn't have the supporting cast someone like Brady does.

Reaction Score
He (Marino) just didn't have the supporting cast someone like Brady does.
That would make for a good argument. Brady's made lots of good and mediocre players better but I haven't seen any sure fire Hall of Famers on his offensive rosters. Put Brady on the Texans last season and they could have won the Super Bowl. Put any other QB on the Pats and they would have fizzled. Marino had lots of good and mediocre players around him too, but other than Dwight Stephenson--no Hall of Famers either. He just wasn't Brady.
Sent from my iPhone

temery

What?
Reaction Score
That would make for a good argument. Brady's made lots of good and mediocre players better but I haven't seen any sure fire Hall of Famers on his offensive rosters. Put Brady on the Texans last season and they could have won the Super Bowl. Put any other QB on the Pats and they would have fizzled. Marino had lots of good and mediocre players around him too, but other than Dwight Stephenson--no Hall of Famers either. He just wasn't Brady.
Sent from my iPhone

I highly doubt Brady would have won a single championship had he played for Miami, instead of Marino. Put Marino on the Patriots and he would have won several.

Reaction Score