OT Anyone have a gym at home? | The Boneyard

OT Anyone have a gym at home?

Reaction Score
Curious to hear if any yarders are into working out at home...

Ive been exercising for about 10-12 years. I started at PF, moved to LAF, the Edge, then tried Crossfit for a while, now back to PF and I’m miserable (had to save$). Fell in love with Crossfit but the prices and open hours are a joke, so I left. Also the “team” mentality and “coaching” just wasn’t for me, but I learned a lot. Because I have a dog and soon to be dad I’m trying to save money in the long term by taking second hand equipment and purchasing the essentials for my unfinished basement.

Got a second hand piece of equipment from family for pull downs and seated row also purchased some cheap rubber mats. Now I’m looking at a buying a dual-use bench/squat rack, adjustable dumbell weights, a barbell, and rubber bumper weights totaling 200-250 lbs. I can pick get some of this off amazon totaling $500-$750 for brands I’ve never heard of but have good consumer ratings. I’m Not trying to turn into a buff bagwell, just want to stay in shape and invest about 5+ hrs/week to fitness like I used to on my own schedule, save gas and time at home.

Did anyone here build a home gym before?
Did you try amazon for anything?
Are there any local places around CT that sell cheap second hand equipment?
Any brands to stray away from?

thanks!

HuskyHawk

The triumphant return of the Blues Brothers.
Reaction Score
Sort of. Treadmill, stationary bike, bench, dumbbells, medicine ball, yoga mat, and a set of resistance bands. Plus a TV. I have combat ropes in the adjoining room. I was really good about it for awhile. Need to get back at it again.

Reaction Score
Sort of. Treadmill, stationary bike, bench, dumbbells, medicine ball, yoga mat, and a set of resistance bands. Plus a TV. I have combat ropes in the adjoining room. I was really good about it for awhile. Need to get back at it again.