OT: any teachers/school administrators here? | The Boneyard

OT: any teachers/school administrators here?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
Sorry team, this has nothing to do with basketball and is pretty much the same thread as the "just graduated" one.

Anyways, just graduated from UConn with a masters in education with a concentration in social studies. Was wondering if anyone is a teacher, administrator or has any kinds of connections to public schools in CT?...it's rough out there.

Anyways, I'm a history nerd and UConn die-hard. If that's what you're looking for in a candidate, I'm your man.

Worth a shot, right?

Reaction Score
Got my bachelors in History/Social Studies and my 7-12 Cert...

Two years and no Social Studies jobs later I got my Master's in Spec. Ed. and am finishing my first year as a special ed teacher.

Social Studies jobs are TOUGH to come by. Getting an interview is a miracle and most of the time districts already have a person with connections they know they're going to hire before the interview process even starts and the interviews are a formality.

That said, don't get frustrated. You literally graduated on what, Sunday? A lot districts haven't even posted their jobs yet. If you don't get a job this year it doesn't mean you suck. Get an in with a district anyway possible. Substitute/para/afterschool program/lunchlady/whatever it takes. Do that for a year and next year YOU'LL be the person with the "in"that the district already knows they want to hire.

I took a job as an assistant teacher and did that for a year. The district said they like me and wanted me to go back and get my special ed cert and they'll hire me in a second. I did and they did. That's how these things happen.

And no sorry no real connections here. Just check ctreap.net indeed.com and k12jobspot like THAT's your job until you find one.

Reaction Score