OT: A mystery to you | The Boneyard

OT: A mystery to you

wire chief

Testmeister
Reaction Score
Now, I have no musical background, and maybe if I did have solid training, I'd know.
But it astounds me that there are millions of songs written and this is done without duplicating someone else's melody line.
Now, there's' just 7 notes, right? OK, OK there're sharps and flats too, but still...
So when it happens that there's a purloined melody line (at least if it involves famous people like George Harrison), we hear about it. There are court cases. It's a wonder it doesn't happen a hundred each day.

So that's my offering as to what boggles my mind. All those unique tunes.

Got anything that you can't grasp?

Reaction Score
Even if there were only two notes and a typical song required 40 notes there would only be 1 chance in 1.2 trillion of producing the same song by chance. A statistician could correct me on this though.

rbny1

Gotham Husky Fanatic
Reaction Score
Even if there were only two notes and a typical song required 40 notes there would only be 1 chance in 1.2 trillion of producing the same song by chance. A statistician could correct me on this though.

I'm not a statistician but I think you're correct. There are also variations in rhythm and note duration, which create the possibility of a nearly infinite number of songs using 40 notes. Some of those songs would sound absolutely terrible, but I wouldn't listen to any of those. I'd only listen to the good songs among the near infinity.:)

JordyG

Stake in my pocket, Vlad to see you
Reaction Score
The reality is although 7 notes carries an infinite number of variations Pop music is prone to the same melody variations, and I hear them over and over. Frequently today I can hear just the opening melody of a song and can remember a bunch of other melody it's been stolen from. To me the idea that one Pop "artist" sues another for violating their "intellectual property" is ludicrous.

Reaction Score