Not a double dribble | The Boneyard

Not a double dribble

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 16, 2011
Messages
52,808
Reaction Score
194,057
Florida fans are all saying it was a double dribble, a few articles are questioning if it was, even a UConn friend of mine thinks it was. I'm guessing none of these people have a clue what a double dribble is because that clearly wasn't one, after being double teamed and in trouble Bazz picked up his dribble and was trying to split the double team when luckily Prather slapped the ball out of his hands enabling Bazz to gather it again and keep dribbling.
 
I gotta be honest, I've watched it a ton of times and I'm not exactly sure it wasn't. If it had been a Florida kid who split the double team I'm relatively sure I would have been screaming for the double dribble. But, here's the thing, the ref didn't call it so it ain't a double dribble.
 
Florida fans are all saying it was a double dribble, a few articles are questioning if it was, even a UConn friend of mine thinks it was. I'm guessing none of these people have a clue what a double dribble is because that clearly wasn't one, after being double teamed and in trouble Bazz picked up his dribble and was trying to split the double team when luckily Prather slapped the ball out of his hands enabling Bazz to gather it again and keep dribbling.

Even before Prather slapped at it the ball fell out of Napier's hands when he squeezed it between two Gator's hips. The ball hitting their hips and falling out of his hands allows him to pick it up again, and that was before Prather slapped at it.

Then they complain about the foul on the 3. What people miss about that foul is that the Gator came underneath him after he jumped. That's why he twisted his ankle. Not to mention that Ollie got that call because Boatright was plowed down on his 3 with no call. If anyone can get a shot of Boatright's 3, you'll see him fouled.
 
The instagram video makes it look clear that Prather slaps it. Every other angle makes it hard to tell. It's no wonder that people doubt it.
 
First thing I saw when it happeed was double dribble and that hasn't changed. The missed call makes up for all the other calls in the game though. Shabazz still had to knock down the shot and if Florida rebounded, it would have been a different outcome.
 
First thing I saw when it happeed was double dribble and that hasn't changed. The missed call makes up for all the other calls in the game though. Shabazz still had to knock down the shot and if Florida rebounded, it would have been a different outcome.

The corner angle that someone posted from instagram clearly shows the ball was hit. There was no double dribble, and the point can no longer be argued.
 
The instagram in question: http://instagram.com/p/hcUJlmEYRv/#

The player trapping Napier on the right, #24 I think it is? His arm comes down and right as it passes the ball is when Bazz loses control. Definitely looks like he tipped it. And even if he didn't, it was way too close to call that. You have to let them play it out if it's that unclear.
 
Even before Prather slapped at it the ball fell out of Napier's hands when he squeezed it between two Gator's hips. The ball hitting their hips and falling out of his hands allows him to pick it up again, and that was before Prather slapped at it.

Then they complain about the foul on the 3. What people miss about that foul is that the Gator came underneath him after he jumped. That's why he twisted his ankle. Not to mention that Ollie got that call because Boatright was plowed down on his 3 with no call. If anyone can get a shot of Boatright's 3, you'll see him fouled.

THIS!!!

I slowed it down on my DVR. When Bazz split the double team, the ball clearly brushes against a UF player's leg as he was trying to move the ball, and he lost it. That allows him to pick up his dribble again.

Also, Prather did tip the ball, EVER so slightly. Saw that in slow-mo too.

Definitely not a double dribble.
 
THIS!!!

I slowed it down on my DVR. When Bazz split the double team, the ball clearly brushes against a UF player's leg as he was trying to move the ball, and he lost it. That allows him to pick up his dribble again.

Also, Prather did tip the ball, EVER so slightly. Saw that in slow-mo too.

Definitely not a double dribble.

When watching the instagram video when Prather's arm comes across and swipes, the ball immediately shoots away from Bazz. Unless Bazz is the smartest and savviest player ever (could be ;)), to throw the ball away at that exact moment to fool the refs, its seems to me that Prather knocked it away.
 
I need to go back and look a the rule, but it may all be irrelevant. The double dribble and travel rules are based on control. If Napier loses control, he can't be called for a double dribble . . .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Online statistics

Members online
281
Guests online
5,236
Total visitors
5,517

Forum statistics

Threads
163,996
Messages
4,377,949
Members
10,169
Latest member
ctfb19382


.
..
Top Bottom