Matt Walsh | The Boneyard

Matt Walsh

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
I am a Xavier graduate so this note may surprise some but if there are 11 better defensive players than Matt Walsh from Hand on the UConn roster then we are going to be a hell of a defensive team. Absolutely GREAT player!

Reaction Score
Agreed, Walsh has a hell of a nose for the ball. The kid was an absolute terror in HS on defense...from what I hear his brother just transferred to Avon Old Farms from Hand. 15 year old sophmore QB 6'2 with a hell of an arm. Could be someone for Uconn to keep an eye on as well.

Reaction Score
Watching him when they beat Mask and Casey Cochran for state title...that kid was a force on the field at LB. When he was put at FB by GDL...it was a waste. I'm glad Diaco put him at LB...it'll only be a matter of time before he makes his presence known with authority on the field!

Reaction Score
We should have a top notch D regardless of whether Walsh starts over Vann. If he were at another position, say CB or DE, sure I'd expect him to be a starter. But he's behind a really good player, the team leading tackler and team capt. And he's never played LB in college.

I expect him to play a lot (and I love the depth we're building everywhere), but if he doesn't start it does not mean we have 11 better players, it means we have 1

Reaction Score
We should have a top notch D regardless of whether Walsh starts over Vann. If he were at another position, say CB or DE, sure I'd expect him to be a starter. But he's behind a really good player, the team leading tackler and team capt. And he's never played LB in college.

I expect him to play a lot (and I love the depth we're building everywhere), but if he doesn't start it does not mean we have 11 better players, it means we have 1