Maryland files $157 million suit against ACC

Status
Not open for further replies.

SubbaBub

Your stupidity is ruining my country.
Reaction Score
There is a thread on the CR board.

Reaction Score
The countersuit also alleges that two ACC schools — prompted by ESPN and motivated by the desire for more lucrative television contracts — attempted to persuade several Big Ten schools to switch conferences.

Interesting. ESPN has never prompted anyone to act in UConn's interest even though our state has given them hundreds of millions in tax breaks.

Reaction Score
I'm not a lawyer, and I did not stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, but I'm relatively sure that ESPN has a problem now. This is a bit different than Eugene being quoted in the Boston Globe, and then issuing a retraction. This is now a matter of legal record, and should somebody really decide to pursue it, I think ESPN has some issues with their involvement in all of this. Eugene and Boston College - Tobacco Road must be so happy that they hooked them up a decade ago. This is also something that's not going to make a certain James Delany happy.

Section 99-100 Pages 24-26
http://media10.washingtonpost.com/generic/media/document_cloud/document/pdf/acclawsuit.pdf

Reaction Score
Getting nasty. Pitt mention.....alleges that two ACC schools attempted to recruit Big Ten members into switching conferences and the league has violated Maryland Antitrust laws.

http://www.cbssports.com/collegefoo...and-files-157-million-countersuit-against-acc

WAPO article

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs...leges-acc-tried-to-lure-big-ten-schools-away/

I pointed this out in the thread on the conference realignment board but I couldn't help but smile at the destination article the first hyperlink in this paragraph of the WAPO takes you: