Change Ad Consent
Do not sell my data
Reply to thread | The Boneyard
Menu
Forums
New posts
Search forums
What's new
New posts
Latest activity
Chat
UConn Football Chat
UConn Men's Basketball
UConn Women's Basketball
Media
The Uconn Blog
Verbal Commits
This is UConn Country
Field of 68
CT Scoreboard Podcasts
A Dime Back
Sliders and Curveballs Podcast
Storrs Central
Men's Basketball
News
Roster
Schedule
Standings
Women's Basketball
News
Roster
Schedule
Standings
Football
News
Roster
Depth Chart
Schedule
Football Recruiting
Offers
Commits
Donate
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
New posts
Search forums
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Forums
UConn Athletics
UConn Women's Basketball Forum
General Women's Basketball Forum
Louisville (8) vs Oregon (1) - 1/30/19
.
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
[QUOTE="Alydar, post: 3349072, member: 730"] I've seen a very wide interpretation of the rule. What constitutes "getting to the position" seems to vary from official to official and even sometimes with the same official in the same game. I've seen countless blocking calls where the person with the ball driving to the hoop suddenly leaves the path to the hoop and drives their shoulder square into the chest of the defender when the defender had clearly got to the position first, but was still moving The stated reason is always that the defender was moving. I remember UConn player Banks driving down the lane and getting called for a charge (and injuring her knee) when the defender jumped into her path only got her right foot on the ground and got hit in her right leg. It looked like a trip to me, but then I already said I'm lacking in knowledge. I was told once by an official who did college games that his way of calling it was where the defender got hit. If they hit the defender square in the chest it was a charge and everything else was a block. Today I watched an Oregon defender hit a ball handler while she (the defender) was moving forward into the ball handler. I don't profess to know much about rule interpretation but I do know inconsistency when I see it. [/QUOTE]
Verification
First name of men's bb coach
Post reply
Forums
UConn Athletics
UConn Women's Basketball Forum
General Women's Basketball Forum
Louisville (8) vs Oregon (1) - 1/30/19
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
Accept
Learn more…
Top
Bottom