In an NFL draft like no other, UConn tackle Matt Peart’s dream is within arm’s reach (Dom Amore) | The Boneyard

In an NFL draft like no other, UConn tackle Matt Peart’s dream is within arm’s reach (Dom Amore)

Reaction Score

>>After spending the last four years as a starting offensive tackle at UConn, including a redshirt senior season that earned him first-team All-American Athletic Conference honors, Peart figures to be the third Huskie selected in the NFL draft since 2017 this week. Most projections have him coming off the board on the second or third day of the draft, which starts Thursday, in the third or fourth round.

It’s sort of a strange but pleasant thought for O’Leary when looking back.

Frankly, it is for Peart, too. “From time to time I reminisce when I was a freshman on JV playing tight end, and now, I’m an offensive tackle looking to play in the NFL,” Peart said. “It’s kind of crazy.”

At 6-foot-7, 318 pounds, Peart is mostly touted for his length and athletic ability entering the draft. He started at both left and right tackle in college, and his performance at the combine solidified most evaluations of Peart as a potential starter after a couple of years as a backup. Yet, quite a number of tackles are projected to come off the board before him, and some mock drafts even have Peart getting selected as deep as the sixth round.

Peart doesn’t care — he just wants to get to the next level. “It’s amazing, it’s like all your hard work has come through,” he said. “For these next few days coming up, it’s kind of surreal … it’s honestly a dream come true. I just can’t wait. I’m getting tongue-tied, I can’t even talk.” <<

Reaction Score

>> Many analysts see UConn offensive tackle Matt Peart, a raw talent, as the first of the state’s players drafted, projecting him as high as the second round, or early third.