Hank Hughes Cincy D-Coordinator | The Boneyard

Hank Hughes Cincy D-Coordinator

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
This has been rumored for a week but still no official announcement from school? Must be more red-tape to clear any posting/hr vetting process.

nelsonmuntz

Point Center
Reaction Score
Hank was a hardworker and competent DC. Nothing more or less. I wasn't particularly disappointed when he left, and wouldn't have been disappointed if he stayed.

A little surprised that he is working for Tuberville, who I thought favored more aggressive D's.

Reaction Score
Hank did a HELL of a lot for UCONN football over the years here. Can he get an Amen?
When I was a young assistant coach whose background was WR's & DB's, he spent A LOT of time working 1 on 1 with me to help me broaden my knowledge base as a coach. He took his time, was a great communicator, and was so giving of his time that I was the one who cut the session short out of guilt for taking up so much of his time! He is just a good person.

FfldCntyFan

Texas: Property of UConn Men's Basketball program
Reaction Score
As a DC, Hank's schemes, primarily for coverage, were a bit too passive and bland for my liking but that aside there is not one bad thing that can be said about the man as a person, a coach or an employee at UConn. I wish him all the best.

nelsonmuntz

Point Center
Reaction Score
The thing about Hank's bland defenses is that they work in college football. College QB's have trouble sustaining 10+ play drives. Eventually a QB makes a bad throw or a RB slips on a cut or something like that, it is then 2nd or 3rd and long, and all the percentages favor the defense.

You won't stop a lot of great or even very good offenses playing with Hank's D, but you will usually stop the mediocre and bad ones.

Reaction Score
Hank did a HELL of a lot for UCONN football over the years here. Can he get an Amen?

After UCONN beats Cincinnati next year is when he'll get an Amen from me.

kobe