OT: Florida cuts their entire Computer Science dept and increases ... | The Boneyard

OT: Florida cuts their entire Computer Science dept and increases ...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
And Calhoun is the monster who doesn't care about academics. The NCAA doesn't care about what the SEC schools do because they bring in the money.

hungry husky

Currently Hungry
Reaction Score
Yeah, pretty heinous stuff. I'm actually a student at UF (for a few more weeks) and there were some SERIOUS protests across campus (I'm talking thousands of people). Pretty apparent where the school's priorities are.

Reaction Score
I kept looking for the punchline in this article, but unfortunately this was not a joke. I can't imagine what the Administration was thinking when they signed off on this! UF has a great academic reputation, but this makes the university seem so out of touch with the future needs of its students. Does the school really need to add $2 million more to its athletic program? With the addition of a new Poly University, this makes the Governor's statements look foolish!

Reaction Score
Just checked U. Florida's athletic department budget. The athletic program, even at U. Florida, receives $4.5 million in aid from the academic side in the form of student fees and direct support. As well, it earns $8 million in royalties (for the sale of sweatshirts and the like) which constitute 100% of the school's revenue on royalties. If one assumes that, say, only 80% of that is related to athletics, that's another $1.5 million that should be going to the academic side.

On the other hand, the school brought in slightly less than $10 million more in revenues than it did expenses. Most of the revenues (33%) came in the form of contributions to athletics.