Dan Orlovsky and Yawin Smallwood on Campus as Student Assistants | The Boneyard

Dan Orlovsky and Yawin Smallwood on Campus as Student Assistants

Reaction Score
Reaction Score
remind me why YS left early? I really enjoyed watching him play

Reaction Score
remind me why YS left early? I really enjoyed watching him play

Yawin Smallwood leaving UConn early for NFL Draft

>>After conferring with his parents, Smallwood decided to give up his final season of eligibility at UConn and declare for the NFL Draft. Smallwood made his decision on Friday night and informed his teammates after Saturday’s 45-10 win over Memphis. “The NFL is just a dream. I have been playing this game since I was 7 years old and one thing was on my mind, and that was to get to the next level,” Smallwood said. “I am just happy and excited that I was able to come to the University of Connecticut. These coaches worked their tail off to make sure I developed into a good player.<<

Reaction Score
Clearly a win-win for him. He gets to finish his degree and get his feet wet coaching. Assuming he gets along with the staff (see no reason he wouldn't) I wouldn't be surprised if he becomes the QB coach next year since he will have his degree.

whaler11

Head Happy Hour Coach
Reaction Score
Loved Smallwood as a linebacker. Staying his Senior year may have changed his draft status. We'll never know.

Pretty doubtful - good college player. It's not like the coaching staff the next year had the ability to showcase guys.

crazyUCfan23

Long live the Civil ConFLiCT
Reaction Score
Yawin hurt his hamstring during the combine. Went from being projected 3-4 round pick to win drafted at the end of the 7th.

Reaction Score
Pretty doubtful - good college player. It's not like the coaching staff the next year had the ability to showcase guys.
Say what you lie about Pasqualoni as a head coach, as a LB coach he is elite.

whaler11

Head Happy Hour Coach
Reaction Score