OT: Comcast to drop Big 10 network | The Boneyard

OT: Comcast to drop Big 10 network

Reaction Score
Dropping out here in Colorado. Simple, No one watches it. IE....no ad revenue.

Reaction Score
I'm not an expert on this stuff, but Comcast isn't even in NYC. Cable offerings here generally are Time Warner, Verizon, and RCN.

I'm not exactly sure what the implications are for in real terms for NYC residents or if this has no effect at all. From this map, it looks like you can only get Comcast in one pocket of Manhattan in the Clinton Hill area. Comcast isn't even that widely available in New York state.

My guess is that the Big 10 thinks so highly of themselves that it doesn't match true value in the marketplace so Comcast decided it wouldn't pay those bloated rates to carry the network anymore.

The Big 10 can either cave and drop carriage fees or be locked out of the Northeast as I would suspect other cable providers may follow suit.

The logical step for B10 fans in NYC would be to cut the cord and get a YouTubeTV or Sling subscription.

krinklecut

Class of '11
Reaction Score
Oh jeeze what will the B1G do without literally 276 people who live in Hopewell Junction?!
Seriously, the total population of the towns listed is 104,696. So maybe 30000 houses with cable, maybe 20000 choose Comcast. How many of those are watching B1G games?

Comcast doesn't have a huge presence in New York, by any stretch. This is non news.

Last edited:

Exit 4

This space for rent
Reaction Score
Comcast is big in New England, Large pockets in the south, most of VA, Colorado and SF, Portland and Seattle. All of these markets are now gone on their system- seems like very big news to me even if the carriage was only 10 cents per household.

And I bet the ratings sucked which embolded comcast to cut.

UConnNick

from Vince Lombardi's home town
Reaction Score