Chamonix | The Boneyard

Chamonix

WestHartHusk

$3M a Year With March Off
Reaction Score
Take the cable car up Aiguille de Midi. Try to figure out how they built the structures on the mountain. Eat at Le Fin Bouche. Was there for only 1 night on a south France/Alps, but always wanted to go back.

Aiguille du midi cable car Chamonix-Mont-Blanc : Practical information about the lifts à Chamonix-Mont-Blanc
Somewhere up top is a crazy picture of women riding an open platform (no walls, buckles, seats) up the original wires, having a blast. It is crazy, especially after riding the hyper safe new lines, which still scared the hell out of me approaching the top.

Reaction Score
Heading to Chamonix next week. Skiing will be iffy due to weather. Anyone been and have recommendations?
Had lunch @ Les Canailles Chamonix about 20 years ago. It was incredible... i was a poor college student traveling through

SubbaBub

Your stupidity is ruining my country.
Reaction Score
Heading to Chamonix next week. Skiing will be iffy due to weather. Anyone been and have recommendations?
Went about 20 years ago before they closed off the center to vehicles. Terrific skiing and apres-ski. My ranking of the slopes is as follows (spelling not included):

Grand Montet (especially the cable car side)
Brevant
La Flaguere
Mer de Glace (the glacier from the Aiguille de Midi). Unique experience, beautiful, but very flat in spots and not especially challenging if you are an expert. It's about 6 hours to complete the run from the top lncluding a stop at a refuge hut for lunch. You'll need a guide.

For Apres Ski, just follow the crowds and avoid the Swedes, they are nuts. For food, use Yelp. Chamonix gets enough English speaking traffic that the reviews/ratings are reliable.

Reaction Score
Take the cable car up Aiguille de Midi. Try to figure out how they built the structures on the mountain. Eat at Le Fin Bouche. Was there for only 1 night on a south France/Alps, but always wanted to go back.