blue screen of javascript?

Discussion in 'Suggestions, Comments, Technology Questions, etc.' started by Point6, Apr 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Point6

    Point6

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    642
    Only on the boneyard, but on a couple of different computers, i get a quick flash blue screen when moving from thread to thread that reads:

    Please enable/Bitte aktiviere JavaScript!
    Veuillez activer/Por favor activa el Javascript!
    [?]

    I have tried to enable Javascript and reloaded Java to no avail. Any suggestions?
     
  2. temery

    temery What?

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    9,316
    Likes Received:
    10,058
    No idea. I'll look into it.
     
  3. Point6

    Point6

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    642
    Thanks!
     
  4. Fishy

    Fishy Puncher of Throats

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    12,315
    Likes Received:
    32,963
    Java and Javascript are different animals - Java is for apps that run in a virtual machine or the browser. Javascript works in the browser-only.

    For the sake of security, I wouldn't have Java installed at all and neither should you. You will need Javascript for some aspects of the site, though.

    I'm guessing that you're using an adblocker and, if so, that's likely the issue.
     
  5. Point6

    Point6

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    642
    I will check that. Thanks. I do use Trend Micro anti-virus on both machines and am using chrome so it might be something about the combination. I will check the settings. I did not know about the Java security issues but if I don't need it I will remove. Thanks!
     
  6. Fishy

    Fishy Puncher of Throats

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    12,315
    Likes Received:
    32,963
    If you're using Chrome, it now blocks the Java plug-in by default anyway - you might as well just dump it from your system.

    You're getting the Javascript error from an ad. (There are some other elements that need Javascript, but you wouldn't get an error message from them.)

    To make sure Javascript is enabled in Chrome....

    1. Click the Chrome menu icon [​IMG] on the browser toolbar.
    2. Select Settings.
    3. On the "Settings" page, click the Show advanced settings... link.
    4. In the "Privacy" section, click Content settings...
    5. Select Allow all sites to run JavaScript (recommended) in the "JavaScript" section.
    6. Click Done.
     
  7. Point6

    Point6

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    642
    Thanks!
     
  8. Jimdish255

    Jimdish255

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5,038
    Likes Received:
    3,082
    Suddenly getting the same interruption on my android tablet with Chrome. Was there a resolution to this?

    Hmmm. MayBe because I wasn't logged in.
     
  9. Point6

    Point6

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    642
    Logging in does help. I sometimes also saw an "adblocker detected" screen which appeared related if not logged in.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.