OT: Used Car Buying Tips (negotiating)? | The Boneyard

OT: Used Car Buying Tips (negotiating)?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
My daughter is buying her first car in Boston, and I'm not there to negotiate or help, so I'd like to pass on some tips to her and need some experiences. I buy a car and keep for 10 years so I am not that experienced buying, although I know how to negotiate cheaper prices and she has seen me in action and took notes. She has her sights on 3 different AWD SUV models with a budget of $15k-$20k. She is vulnerable and I just know the salesman sharks will smell it and extract extra thousands of dollars from her. Worse I don't want them to up-sell or dump an unsold car long in inventory on her. So I'd like to arm her, so to speak.

When is the best time (seasonally) to buy a used car? Is it end of summer (now) when dealers are making room for new cars? Perhaps end of month or quarter (sales quota/goals)?

Where is the best place to shop for used cars; New Car Dealerships or Used Car only Dealerships?

I assume that you always want to have the salesman bring the manager (to close) at the end because he will take some of their commissions to generate more savings, Meaning act like you are going to walk away.

Can you negotiate for better warranties, like free tire rotation, wiper blades, oil changes, etc.. without increasing warranty price?

Any contract add-ons to avoid? Anything to make sure is there?

Is it helpful to flash screens of similar cars priced lower for price match?

'Generally' with similar cars (different makes) what's better 2012 40k miles or 2014 70k miles?

How can someone really spot a potential/hidden problem?

For a single person living on their own, is it better to go domestic (service/parts/repairs) than foreign concerning cost of ownership?

Should she avoid premium gas only cars?

Should she try and bring a mechanic?

How should she test drive it and for how long?