OT: Mountain Bike Purchase | The Boneyard

OT: Mountain Bike Purchase

Status
Not open for further replies.

uconnphil2016

Head Rat
Reaction Score
Bit of a stretch, but I'm wondering if anyone on the BY is an avid mountain biker and can offer some input on a purchase I'm contemplating. Recently, my good friend began mountain biking and has convinced me to get a bike. I've only gone a couple of times and am a complete beginner. Looking to purchase a 27.5 hardtail bike and my budget is $1,000. The local bike store suggested a Felt Seven 60, and the research I've done indicates that the Kona Blast is a good bike for the price. Of the two, which would you suggest?

7 Sixty - Felt Bicycles

KONA BIKES | 2016 BIKES | ORIGINALS | Blast

krinklecut

Class of '11
Reaction Score
I absolutely love Felt as a bicycle brand. I've logged thousands and thousands of miles on my Felt road bikes. I'm not a mountain biker and don't have one, but Felt makes a fine bike. If I were to buy a MTB Felt is my first stop.

uconnphil2016

Head Rat
Reaction Score
I absolutely love Felt as a bicycle brand. I've logged thousands and thousands of miles on my Felt road bikes. I'm not a mountain biker and don't have one, but Felt makes a fine bike. If I were to buy a MTB Felt is my first stop.

Great--thanks for the help. At the bike shop, they basically said that a $1,000 Felt bike has components that compare to a $1,200 MTB from the likes of Kona, Specialized, Cannondale, etc.

Reaction Score
My brother has a professional license for downhill mountain biking. He says felt is solid though he would go Cannondale at that price point his bikes are crazy money now but that was his recommendation.

krinklecut

Class of '11
Reaction Score
Great--thanks for the help. At the bike shop, they basically said that a $1,000 Felt bike has components that compare to a $1,200 MTB from the likes of Kona, Specialized, Cannondale, etc.