OT: in-home aquarium | The Boneyard

OT: in-home aquarium

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
Anyone have one? I live in an apartment that does not allow pets besides fish. Aquariums are cool so I might look into getting one. Any advice would be awesome (cost, effort to maintain, tips/tricks, etc.)

Reaction Score
My dad had a 200(?) Gallon saltwater tank for a few years. I'm sure fresh water is easier, but saltwater is a TON of work to maintain. The smaller fish are usually 20-50 if I remember, but the coral can set you back 200-300 for cool pieces. Go to the fish store (also make sure there's a good one nearby you or you could end up making frequent road trips) and talk to them to get an idea what size tanks they offer and get a quote for filter, lighting, heater etc

Reaction Score
A lot of work, if you don't mind keeping up with it, it can be very relaxing, and frustrating.

Reaction Score
I've been keeping aquariums for 15 years or so. Currently living in an apartment and I have a 110 gallon African Cichlid setup.

I'm more then happy to help with anything specific if you want to PM me. But my first piece of advise is to check out craigslist - you can get some awesome deals. I bought my 110 there for about $300 (retails for well over $1200 with the stand and canopy) and refinished it myself. A lot of this will depend on your preferences. Do you want color / ease of care? Do you have a tank size in mind?

Reaction Score
I kept freshwater tropical aquarium fish since I was a little kid (around 1975), stopped in college of course and then had a tank once I graduated in 1991 until 2012 when Hurricane Sandy knocked out the power at my house for 7 or 8 days and the fish I had remaining died from the cold. I've decided not to set one up again unless I get a generator so that if it happens again I don't kill my poor fish.