Diaco on importance of being picked 9th | The Boneyard

Diaco on importance of being picked 9th

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
As a long-time coach, I am always fascinated by how other coaches choose to structure their programs and by what their overall philosophy is in terms of how they run their program....

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Coach Diaco's quote about what impact the preseason prediction of being picked 9th in the AAC will have on the team (found in the audio clip about 45 seconds in from the Boneyard Home page). Typical coachspeak (and this is correct but vanilla and standard...) is to say something about predictions being meaningless, what matters is what happens on the field, etc. All that is true of course, and UConn has traditionally been undervalued by prognosticators.

However, Coach Diaco went MILES beyond that in a mere few seconds to my ear. He said "...that can't be an energy for us..." Music to my ears! To me, "proving the doubters wrong" and other similar sentiments is a no-win outlook that ultimately comes up short in terms of motivation. To want to prove people wrong comes from a place of insecurity. Who gives a S&^$ what other people think? It is a shallow motivation. I like what Coach Diaco seems to be bringing to the table in terms of outlook. It strikes me as a winner's outlook.

Reaction Score
As a long-time coach, I am always fascinated by how other coaches choose to structure their programs and by what their overall philosophy is in terms of how they run their program....